Principal Donald MacLean to retire

July 24, 2018


Sadly, I am informing you that our Principal Donald MacLean will be retiring at the end of this year. 

Donald will leave a lasting legacy after more than two decades as Dilworth’s Principal and 40 years in the teaching profession.

Under Donald’s leadership, Dilworth has developed a culture of outstanding achievement in all areas.  Academic performance has improved year on year, with 2017 NCEA results being the best in the school’s history.  Culturally our school has flourished, with music being recognised both nationally and internationally. Our sporting performance has also gone from strength to strength. Donald has been a champion of encouraging the boys to be good all-rounders and to excel in all aspects of school life, whatever their strengths. The impact of the improvements in pastoral care and the spiritual life of the school are also significant.

A highlight of Donald’s tenure at Dilworth has been the opening of the Rural Campus in 2012. He was the initial inspiration behind the concept of this unique outdoor education centre with the decision to purchase the old Hotel du Vin site in Mangatawhiri. The Rural Campus has changed our school’s culture and allowed us to offer boys an extraordinary opportunity they would not be able to receive anywhere else in New Zealand. 

There is no doubt that Dilworth is a special place. Many of our students come from challenging circumstances yet their incredible achievements both at school and beyond never fail to impress me. This, and the transformation of these boys, is testament to Donald’s strong leadership and the hard work of our exceptional staff.

The Trust Board expresses our gratitude to Donald for his commitment, dedication and service to Dilworth and we wish him the best for his future.  As the year closes, there will be an opportunity to farewell Donald at various events.

The Trust Board is progressing with recruitment of a new Principal and we will keep you up to date with news on this appointment.

Aaron Snodgrass


Dilworth Trust Board